Matcha Latte Crème brûlée (stove top caramel)

So if you’re following my blog, you’ll know by now that I am severely under equipped. I absolutely refuse to buy a piece of baking equipment if I think that I will use it less than 5 times a year. Therefore, no I do not own a brûlée torch and I do not intend to get one. And as I was craving crème brûlée, I was left with two options, the broiler method (which a lot of blogs advise against as the custard will get over heated while waiting for the sugar to caramelise) or the hot spoon method (which just seems far too difficult as my stove is induction).

Then a friend (hi, rattykins!) suggested that I simply melt sugar on the stove until liquid then pour over the custards. So here are the results!

While this method is relatively easy, I can’t quite manage to pour a thin enough layer as the caramel hardens very quickly the moment it touches the cold custard. So if you like lots of crackly sugar, this is the method for you. However, definitely cut down the sugar content in the custards by at least half to compensate. This recipe makes 4 teacups, I made two plain vanilla and two matcha latte.

Ingredients

  • 3 yolks
  • 5 tablespoons sugar
  • 1.5 cups heavy cream
  • Vanilla (pod or essense)

Beat yolks and sugar until pale and creamy. I got my whisk from this shop.

Heat cream until almost at boiling point. Let cool a little then add to yolk mixture, while stirring with a whisk. Do not beat too hard to reduce getting bubbles in your custard. Also begin by adding the hot cream, a tablespoon at a time to the yolks to absolutely prevent curdling. Once you have spooned in a quarter of the cream, go ahead to pour it in, in a small stream while stirring. I also set my bowl over a bag of frozen peas to keep the temperature low.

Sieve the mixture then pour into cups. If you want to flavour your custards with matcha latte, stir in a packet of instant matcha latte powder now (in a ratio of one packet for every 2 teacups of custard; where one packet would have ordinarily made one cup of matcha latte drink). Bake in a water bath at 120C until custards are set on the edges but still wobbly in the middle, about 50min.

Refrigerate until cold. To make caramel crust, heat 2 tablespoons of sugar for every teacup of custard, in a saucepan over low heat. Try not to stir. Once its amber liquid, pour over custard and swirl it quickly. If you try to use a spoon to spread the caramel, it will stick to the spoon and make ugly bumps. So if that happens, make a sugar nest to cover up the ugly spots. Do this by pouring a bit of caramel over the back of a spoon.

Leave a Reply

